Hi There

Been months since you’ve heard from me? My bad. I don’t know what it is, I’m just a little too lazy when it comes to actually blogging. Sorry! You know when you go to youtube, then realize it’s tomorrow? …anyway, lets continue!

Mandrake9 Mandrake

Well Harry Potter had some if it correct. I kind of love when fantasy books base their ideas on real history. In ancient Europe it was said that the man like root would scream once pulled and kill the harvester. This of course is just a story as I firmly believe it would be impossible. Yes I know, a skeptical witch. I believe in ghosts, fairies and that I got my friend pregnant with a potion…but not a deadly scream from a plant.

Peters, Hermann.
Pictorial History of Ancient Pharmacy. 3rd ed.
Chicago: G. P. Englehard, 1902, c.1899.
Ebling Library call number RS 61 P48

In its earlier days, the plant was used as a sedative and a pain killer…but a killer it was. Ingest too much and the plant would be fatal. Mandrake, being in the atropa genus and nightshade family, is highly poisonous. Does atropa and nightshade look familiar? Any herbal loving, potion making witch should know it instantly. Yes, mandrake is related to Atropa Belladonna, or Deadly Nightshade (one of my favorites). Another amazing sedative that will instantly kill you if you use too much. Oh the amazing sleeping potion I could make…*cough* don’t do it, I don’t recommend it at all! (though it totally works)

Through my studies I’ve seen a LOT of spells for love using mandrake, probably due to it’s “human-like” nature. I guess if you squint, they kind of look like human bodies. I’ve of course have never pulled one from the Earth, but hey maybe. The beauty behind this herb is its attractive and repellent nature. How is this possible you ask? Mandrake is a wonderful catalyst, it just depends on what you put with it. You can use it to attract love, attract wealth and good fortune, or you can use it to repel evil or attacks, be them magickal or physical.

Try adding the root to your conjure bags or powders and see if it gives it the extra boost you need. I know I use mine all the time. I have a very special money charm I use that works very well. Mandrake is the key ingredient in this, aided by cinnamon and bay. If you have had luck with mandrake, let me know in the comments what you’ve done with it, I’d love to hear about it!

Alright my magickal friends, I hope to see you soon. I’ll try to find more ideas to blog about and hope you enjoy them!

sweet serenity,

Derek….