Hello Readers!

Today’s blog is about inspiration. I recently started writing a book and needed a quick break, so I came here to blog about what I’m doing. Magick ALWAYS inspires me. Everything I do has magick behind it, being helping people, writing, or just living life. Does magick inspire you at all? If so tell me how! Whenever I write stories I will always have some mystical aspect to it. I want my characters to feel real in unreal situations. Is it possible…scientifically possible to control fire with just a look from your eye? Well a few people out there will say yes, and damn it, i’d like to see that, but no, I don’t believe it is. Also, those out there who claim that can, can you teach me? haha ANYWAY.

I feel the more we put magick or witchcraft out into the world, it will be more accepted. If not accepted than at least tolerated. No one should be treated less than because of a faith they have, especially one that doesn’t conflict with everyday life. We aren’t some lunatic religious group telling people that if you let gay people get married then next people will want to marry a goat. You know, i kind of doubt that would happen, but hey, if that is your argument so be it.

What I do is not let people ruin my specific faith in the energies around us. I wouldn’t feel the way I do, or dream the way I do if what I believe was wrong. There is a power inside me, a power I use often. I’m in touch with the energies that surround me and am slowly learning how to use them properly. I believe the best way to get inspiration is to use the elements. Your strongest would be of course the element in which you were born under. As a child of water, listening to the ocean always inspires me. Don’t live next to an ocean or body of water? I understand! Well kind of, i’ve always lived next to lakes, ponds or now the ocean. I will say this, I know it sounds weird, but I get inspiration also in the shower. I let the water devour my being and let my mind wander. Standing there naked as the stream of water flows down my head covering my body, ideas quickly flock to my brain. Have an artistic block? Take a shower, let the water cleanse and break that block. Even if you aren’t born under the water sign, trust me, it works.

Next is fire. I love a good bonfire, always gets the juices flowing. This is great for a gathering, a meeting of a coven, or just plain fun. Grab your sacred herbs to burn. A good inspiration attracting mixture is anise seed, bay leaves and orange zest (ground orange rind). As they burn, you will feel the energy flow into you. Staring into the fire can also induce a meditative trance and let you see things that normally may not be seen, which will also inspire you. You don’t have to do this at a bonfire of course, you can use a candle. I suggest an orange candle, but a white one will work just fine. You can burn the herbs as incense while staring into the flame of the candle. This is sure to spark whatever creative flow you need.

Earth is an amazing grounding element that you can use to tap into the energies of the earth. Using a grounding ritual is always best. If you can’t do it outside, that is fine, everything is connected. It will just take more focus. The best way is to sit outside and dig your hands directly into the ground, calming yourself and focusing on the energies within flowing through you. Become one with the earth. If you are inside, light a brown candle to help you focus. place your hands on the floor and again, tap into the earth energies from beneath you. It doesn’t matter what floor you may be on, i’m on the second and have done this. Feel your hands reach through the floor into the ground below. Meditate on this energy gaining exercise and you should be inspired in no time. Another fun way is to dig your hands into dirt, I’m sure you have a houseplant somewhere. Just reach in and feel the energy from the plant and the dirt itself. Be one with nature.

Finally we have Air. Go outside, feel the gentle breeze flow into you, let it engulf you in its wonder. Open a window, and sit next to it, breathe in the air deeply and embrace it’s power. What if there isn’t any wind? Get a fan! Best way to get air is to make it. Let the soft hum of a fan lull you into a meditative trance as the air takes over your body. The element of Air is one of the best for drawing inspiration. Those born under the element of Air are usually stuck in their own minds, it’s always flowing freely. Embrace that, let every single thought run through your mind. Piece them together, let your mind take you on the journey. If there is wind, and you have a dying dandelion, blow the seeds from the dandelion and as you watch them float away, ask the winds to bring you inspiration.

I hope this blog inspired you. Don’t forget to comment and leave feedback! Talk to you soon everyone! Terra – Aeris – Ignis – Aqua – Elementa ego vocare!

sweet serenity,

Derek….