Greetings all!

 A friend of mind and I were talking and it started up an idea for a new blog. I was explaining to her that there really isn’t white or black magick, it all falls into the intent of the witch. If you really observe certain people you can kind of tell what energy they give off, well if you’re a witch anyway. There is always a balance to life, without evil there cannot be good, without dark there cannot be light. So the question remains, where do you fall?

Light/Dark Cross

 I created this cross image to illustrate the different energies one relates to. The full theory can be found in "Nocturnal Witchcraft" by Konstantinos. Interesting book for those who find themselves in the darker side of the cross, but let me explain.

 As you can see, the center beam has Light at the top and Dark at the bottom. Each of us follow one of these energy alignments. You might ask though, where does the good and evil come in when light and dark says it all? Great question, but wrong thinking! Looking at the horizontal beam, you can see Evil on the left and Good on the right. the reason for the cross structure is to use a sort of grid in order to “plot” our magickal path. See what I did there? I used a math term as a double entendre…NERD! (awesome nerd) …ANYWAY, looking at the circle behind the cross helps illustrate the meanings behind each of the four corners.

 Now we see there is more than just light and dark, and more than just good and evil. The four paths are:

Light/GoodLight/EvilDark/GoodDark/Evil

If you really pay attention to people, you will start to see the differences. Personally I am Dark/Good. I do not wish harm onto anyone unless said person brings harm to them-self. I enjoy night as opposed to day, I have a dry sense of humor, I curse those that wrong me, this is my dark side. My light side brings my ability to heal people, I have strong compassion for living beings, I have a big heart, and I help anyone who asks, within reason of course.

 If you are a little confused, let me try to nudge you into the right direction, try to have you understand how to spot the different paths. Lets take for instance Kristin Chenoweth, Glinda from Wicked (amazing btw). Just looking at her, hearing her talk…all you have to do is look into her eyes and this beam of light shoots out. You can feel her heart, and you can see there is NOTHING dark or evil about that woman. Her path would be Light/Good. Another example would be Agelina Jolie. This one should be a little easier to understand, especially when she used to wear blood around her neck. Girl is freaky, but is she evil? Not even the slightest. You can tell that she has darkness within her, but she has this amazing good side to her. Just in her smile alone you should be able to feel this warm energy. Let alone all her work over seas. She is a wonderful, yet dark person. Did that help? I hope it did.

 But what about the other side? Dark/Evil is kind of obvious, but what is Light/Evil. Great question! You are so smart. Light/Evil is quite complicated and is rare. These people use the guise of lightness to either do evil things, or get people to do evil things. They prey on those not educated to what I’m explaining here. “Well if she follows the light, she can’t be evil”. I feel pretty, oh so prettyIf only that were true. Konstantinos uses a great example in his book. He speaks of religious extremists, like those behind “God Hates Fags”. What was her name? The really ugly woman with the horrible hair…AH Shirley Phelps-Roper…that’s the bitch’s name. So she’s a great example, she uses her religion as a means to attack and hurt people. She scares people into thinking that their God is this horrible, spiteful, vengeful being who will destroy their soul if they don’t believe the “correct” things. Even if I were christian, there is no way I’d believe that. Thankfully, the Goddess, or natural energy being wants only balance in the world.

 Random example, did anyone see the Charmed where darkness/evil was banished from the world, and Phoebe got shot because she blocked her neighbor in her driveway? That, right there…perfect example of the balance of good and evil and how we need it to survive. Thank you charmed, you messed up a lot about witchcraft (though i still love you), but at least ya got some things right!

 I think i’m going to end it here, I didn’t even realize how long it was, don’t want to bore you readers to death! Thank you again for your continued support though this, any questions and comments are appreciated. I still haven’t gotten that book on traditional witchcraft I ordered, but once I do, i’ll make sure to blog about it!

sweet serenity,

Derek…

p.s Don’t forget to check out my new t-shirt store at http://dereksmagick.spreadshirt.com!
It’s new and I will be adding designs frequently. You can find out more about it on my Shop page!